Welcome to our new AFII Board members

We are pleased to announce the appointment of the Agrifood Innovation Institute (AFII) Board. The Board replaces the CEAT Governance Committee, and reflects the expected increase in responsibilities related to the governance and oversight of the Innovation Institute as it continues to grow over the next few years.

The AFII Board comprises 10 members, including senior academics from within ANU, and others from the corporate sector who bring significant expertise in innovation and the agrifood industry. The new Board will have oversight of our Innovation Institute’s performance against the:

  • AFII Strategic Plan 2024-2028,
  • AFII Operational Plan 2024-2028, and
  • funding milestones agreed with the University’s Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation.

Chairing the new Board is Victoria Taylor who transitions from her previous role as the CEAT Governance Committee Chair, a position she has held since 2020.

The ANU Board members are:

  • Owen Atkin – Director, Agrifood Innovation Institute
  • Ute Roessner – Academic Director, Research Initiatives and Infrastructure
  • Kiaran Kirk – Dean, ANU College of Science
  • Amanda Barnard – Deputy Director, ANU School of Computing
  • Darren Halpin – Associate Dean (Research), ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences
  • Kate Henne – Director, ANU School of Regulation and Global Governance (RegNet)

The corporate Board members are:

  • Victoria Taylor – Chair, Agrifood Innovation Institute
  • Rob Gordon – Non-Executive Director, Inghams Group
  • Hebbat Manhy – Head of Technology – Agriculture, Climate & Industry, Cicada Innovations
  • Ben Fargher – Lead, Environmental Markets APAC, Cargill

We look forward to working with the new Board to progress the AFII mission to work on transformational change in the agrifood sector. The new Board will have their first meeting before the end of the year.

Back to News