Agrifood Innovation Institute Board – Kiaran Kirk

Kiaran Kirk


ANU College of Science

Professor Kiaran Kirk AM FAHMS is Dean of the ANU College of Science. After completing his PhD at the University of Sydney in 1988, he worked as a Research Fellow at the University of Oxford before returning to Australia in 1996 to head the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology in the ANU Faculty of Science. From 2009 to 2014 he was the Director of the newly-formed Research School of Biology in the ANU College of Science, and since 2014 he has served as College Dean.

Kiaran’s research has focused primarily on the biology of the malaria parasite, and on antimalarial drugs. He was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (FAHMS) in 2017 and appointed Member of the Order of Australia in the 2023 Australia Day Honours. In addition to his ANU role, Kiaran is the Chair of the Australian Wine Research Institute in Adelaide, and Chairs the Board of Clonakilla Wines, a family-owned winery in the Canberra District.