Creating Crops for the Future: Challenges, Technology and Sustainable Solutions



Creating Crops for the Future: Challenges, Technology and Sustainable Solutions



The ARC Centres of Excellence for Translational Photosynthesis and in Plant Energy Biology Invite you to a Special Plantae Seminar on: Creating Crops for the Future: Challenges, Technology and Sustainable Solutions.

One of the most urgent scientific challenges of the 21st century lies in ensuring that we have enough food for the growing global population. Join us for this special event where three experts in the field of plant science will speak on how scientists are advancing sustainable crops and biotechnologies to make world food security a reality.

Join Moderator Professor John Evans (ARC Centre of Excellence for Translational Photosynthesis) in a unique forum for discussion about how critical and complex issues can be addressed, including water and land scarcity, climate change, the role of genetic engineering and other modern agricultural technologies and the importance of interdisciplinary approaches.

This event is presented by Plantae, and co-hosted by the ARC Centre of Excellence for Translational Photosynthesis and the ARC Centre of Excellence in Plant Energy Biology.

Speakers: Professor Pamela Ronald (UC Davis), Professor Harvey Millar (ARC Centre of Excellence in Plant Energy Biology) and Professor Robert Furbank (ARC Centre of Excellence for Translational Photosynthesis)

Date: November 11, 11:00 am to 1:00 pm Australia East Coast Daylight Time (AEDT UTC+11 )

which is November 10, 7:00-9:00 pm  EST, 4:00-6:00 pm PST

Event Moderator: Professor John Evans, ARC Centre of Excellence for Translational Photosynthesis

Organised by: Plantae – more information at https://plantae.org/creating-crops-for-the-future-challenges-technology-and-sustainable-solutions/

 

Register here.

11 - 11 Nov, 2020

11:00 am - 1:00 pm

Online